Programs & Degrees

Biology

Delivery: A mix of daytime, evening, Saturday, and online courses
Start: Fall or Spring Semester, Full- or Part-Time

Liberal Arts and Sciences – Associate in Arts Degree (60 Credits)
Minnesota Transfer Curriculum – MnTC

About the Discipline


When you take Biology courses at Century, you'll work with biologists from diverse backgrounds and areas of expertise, who will help you acquire foundational knowledge in a variety of subjects, such as:

  • Botany
  • Ecology
  • Evolution
  • Human anatomy & physiology
  • Microbiology
  • Zoology

In addition, you'll develop a better understanding of current topics in the news, such as global warming, medical breakthroughs, and endangered species. At Century College, you can take the same courses offered during the first two years at a four-year university, but receive instruction by faculty rather than teaching assistants.

By taking Biology classes, you will satisfy requirements for entry into, or completion of, a variety of professional programs, including:

  • Dental Hygiene
  • Investigative Sciences in Law Enforcement
  • Law Enforcement
  • Medical Assistant
  • Nursing
  • Orthotic Technology
  • Prosthetic Technology
  • Radiologic Technology

Department Points of Pride


  • Our new state-of-the-art Science/Library Building opened in fall 2008.
  • Our Wood Duck Trail offers a wooded nature area adjacent to campus and provides the perfect place for nature study and field projects.

Contact Information


Admissions Office 651.773.1700 admissions@century.edu Room 2350 West
Counseling & Advising Office 651.779.3285 Ask Century Room 2410 West
Financial Aid Office 651.779.3305 finaid@century.edu Room 2320 West

Discipline Contact Information


Jessica Bell (651) 779-3220 jessica.bell@century.edu E 2822
Erin Carter (651) 779-3372 erin.carter@century.edu E 2823
Joy Cedarleaf (651) 779-3330 joy.cedarleaf@century.edu E 2833
John DeMay (651) 779-3241 john.demay@century.edu E 3881
Paul Dykes (651) 779-3369 paul.dykes@century.edu E 2826
Bill Jurney (651) 748-2637 bill.jurney@century.edu E 3575
Rahul Kane (651) 779-3467 rahul.kane@century.edu E 2842
Ann Kessen (651) 779-3339 ann.kessen@century.edu E 2824
Jeff Korpik (651) 748-5328 jeff.korpik@century.edu E 2835
Michelle LeBeau (651) 779-3946 michelle.lebeau@century.edu E 2836
Alia Nystrom (651) 779-3241 alia.nystrom@century.edu E 3881
Pamela Thinesen (651) 779-3476 pamela.thinesen@century.edu E 2832
Lori Thrun (651) 779-3220 lori.thrun@century.edu E 2822
Jessica Van Der Werff (651) 748-2637 jessica.vanderwerff@century.edu E 3575