Programs & Degrees

Skipped BreadcrumbHome > Programs & Degrees > English

English

Delivery: A mix of daytime, evening, Saturday, and online courses
Start: Fall or Spring Semester, Full- or Part-Time

Liberal Arts and Sciences – Associate in Arts Degree (60 Credits)
Certificate: English – Creative Writing (15 credits)
Minnesota Transfer Curriculum – MnTC

About the Discipline


Century College's English Department offers you the same courses as any four-year college or university during your first two years, with these important differences:
  • Century is less expensive.
  • You won't be taught by a teaching assistant.
  • Our English instructors have a minimum of a Master's Degree and many years of college teaching experience.
  • You'll have 25 different literature courses from which to choose.
In addition to the basic first-year English composition courses, we also offer courses in:
  • Technical writing
  • Advanced composition
  • Creative writing
Literature courses range from the general--such as American and British Literature--to the specific, such as Minnesota Writers.

Department Points of Pride


Some English courses are held in computer classrooms, one of which is specially designed to facilitate writing workshops, collaboration, and visual presentation of writing. In addition, many English courses are web-enhanced or offered totally online.

Our Writing Center also provides computers specifically reserved for students who are working on writing projects. Students can save their writing on disk or CD.

Herb Kjos Memorial English Scholarship
This $2,000 scholarship (prorated between fall and spring semesters) recognizes students for past academic achievement in English writing and literature and supports their continued pursuit of English and/or English-related fields.

Contact Information


Admissions Office 651.773.1700 admissions@century.edu Room 2350 West
Counseling & Advising Office 651.779.3285 Ask Century Room 2410 West
Financial Aid Office 651.779.3305 finaid@century.edu Room 2320 West

Discipline Contact Information


Sandra Block (651) 747-4057 sandra.block@century.edu W 3357
Susan Borden (651) 747-4035 susan.borden@century.edu W 3404
Mary Bratager Fernandez (651) 779-3406 mary.fernandez@century.edu W 3354
Cullen Bailey Burns (651) 779-3412 cullenbailey.burns@century.edu W 3392
Jill Cadwell (651) 747-4055 jill.cadwell@century.edu W 3355
Barbara Case (651) 779-5747 barbara.case@century.edu W 3350
Linda Clemens (651) 779-3407 linda.clemens@century.edu W 3364
Angela Coffee (651) 779-3982 angela.coffee@century.edu W 3074
Ed Coffey (651) 747-4057 ed.coffey@century.edu W 3357
Julie Daniels (651) 779-3364 julie.daniels@century.edu W 3386
Patricia Darling (651) 779-3943 pat.darling@century.edu W 3070
Dianne Del Giorno (651) 779-3386 dianne.delgiorno@century.edu W 3382
Emmanuel Doh (651) 748-2603 emmanuel.doh@century.edu W 3406
Kelly Donahue (651) 779-5791 kelly.donahue@century.edu W 3405
Amy Fladeboe (651) 779-3217 amy.fladeboe@century.edu W 3352
Kimberly Gaffney (651) 779-3217 kimberly.gaffney@century.edu W 3352
Carl Gerriets (651) 779-3414 carl.gerriets@century.edu W 3388
Cheryl Gfrerer (651) 779-3340 cheryl.gfrerer@century.edu W 3390
Scott Guenthner (651) 779-3403 scott.guenthner@century.edu W 3353
Eric Harmon (651) 779-3408 eric.harmon@century.edu W 3362
Robert Hathaway (651) 779-3409 robert.hathaway@century.edu W 3360
Brent Heffron (651) 779-3301 brent.heffron@century.edu W 3421
Carol Jacobson (651) 747-4062 carol.jacobson@century.edu W 3407
Yanmei Jiang (651) 779-3402 yanmei.jiang@century.edu W 3359
Dan Jones (651) 779-3960 dan.jones@century.edu W 3073
Brittany Kerschner (651) 779-3340 brittany.kerschner@century.edu W 3390
Dee Klagstad (651) 779-3400 donna.klagstad@century.edu W 3280
Richard Kuss (651) 779-3314 richard.kuss@century.edu W 3393
Dana LeMay (651) 748-2622 dana.lemay@century.edu W 3394
Brian Lewis (651) 747-4056 brian.lewis@century.edu W 3387
Laurie Lykken (651) 779-3386 laurie.lykken@century.edu W 3382
Russ Markert (651) 779-3301 russ.markert@century.edu W 3421
Beth Mayer (651) 779-3335 beth.mayer@century.edu W 3391
Gregory Mulcahy (651) 779-3410 gregory.mulcahy@century.edu W 3361
Kris Peleg (651) 779-3323 kristine.peleg@century.edu W 3408
Starletta Poindexter (651) 747-4035 starletta.poindexter@century.edu W 3404
Gordon Pueschner (651) 779-3301 gordon.pueschner@century.edu W 3421
Patricia Pyle (651) 779-3386 patricia.pyle@century.edu W 3382
Melanie Richards (651) 779-3982 melanie.richards@century.edu W 3074
Peter Saiz (651) 779-3960 peter.saiz@century.edu W 3073
Katherine Saylor (651) 779-5741 katherine.saylor@century.edu W 3358
Larry Sklaney (651) 747-4006 larry.sklaney@century.edu W 3413
Laurel Smith (651) 779-3400 laurel.smith@century.edu W 3280
Celia Swanson (651) 779-3943 celia.swanson@century.edu W 3070
Derek Tellier (651) 779-3932 derek.tellier@century.edu W 3072
Cynthia Villegas (651) 773-1766 cynthia.villegas@century.edu W 3389
Chris Weyandt (651) 779-3932 chris.weyandt@century.edu W 3072
Joan Williams (651) 779-3301 joan.williams@century.edu W 3421
Ruth Wollersheim (651) 773-1760 ruth.wollersheim@century.edu W 3363