Programs & Degrees

Mathematics

Delivery: A mix of daytime, evening, Saturday, and online courses
Start: Fall or Spring Semester, Full- or Part-Time

Liberal Arts and Sciences – Associate in Arts Degree (60 Credits)
Minnesota Transfer Curriculum – MnTC

About the Discipline


Century's Mathematics Department offers quality courses to meet your educational needs, including:
  • Developmental coursework for college-level mathematics courses.
  • Program-specific courses that satisfy the mathematics requirements of degree technical programs offered at Century.
  • College-level courses that meet general education requirements and successfully transfer to four-year universities in Minnesota and across the United States.
  • College-level courses that meet the lower division mathematics requirements for students majoring in mathematics, natural science, chemistry, biology, engineering, computer science, business, or mathematics education.
The scope of each area is broad, stretching from prehistoric times to the frontiers of cyberspace. In each course, you'll have the opportunity to discuss and analyze representative creative works from both a historical and a cultural context.

Department Points of Pride


Our Mathematics Resource Center offers free, walk-in assistance with Math coursework as well as a place to study. The center is staffed by professionals with mathematics degrees who are assisted by student tutors from advanced mathematics courses. In addition, our Mathematics Resource Center offers extended evening hours and is also open on Saturdays.

For three consecutive years (2004-06), Century Mathematics students earned first place in the state of Minnesota in the Student Mathematics League Contest of the American Mathematical Association of Two-Year Colleges (AMATYC). They also earned first place in the Central Region of the United States.

Century's Mathematics faculty are experts at using technology as well as alternate teaching strategies, such as collaborative, group, and discovery learning, and the use of numerous mathematics-related software programs such as Mathematica, Derive, Maple, and Minitab. Examples of the outstanding achievements of the Mathematics faculty include:
  • In 2005, Joyce Gwizdala received Century's Outstanding Faculty Award for her work in the classroom and service to the college.
  • Carol Purcell received the Golden Apple Award from Phi Theta Kappa in 2006. (Faculty are nominated by their students.)
  • At the 2006 AMATYC national conference, Brian Peterman had the highest score in the Faculty Mathematics Contest.

Scholarship


Each year, the Century College Foundation awards a scholarship (fully funded by Mathematics Department members) to an outstanding Century College student who excels in Mathematics.

Professional Organizations and Links


Contact Information


Admissions Office 651.773.1700 admissions@century.edu Room 2350 West
Counseling & Advising Office 651.779.3285 Ask Century Room 2410 West
Financial Aid Office 651.779.3305 finaid@century.edu Room 2320 West

Discipline Contact Information


Pat Byrnes (651) 748-5324 pat.byrnes@century.edu W 3410
Amy Canavan (651) 779-3379 amy.canavan@century.edu W 3332
Daniel Ghebresilassie (651) 779-3463 daniel.ghebresilassie@century.edu W 3381
John Gingerich (651) 748-5325 john.gingerich@century.edu W 3409
Peter Gits (651) 779-3491 peter.gits@century.edu W 3324
Joyce Gwizdala (651) 779-3382 joyce.gwizdala@century.edu W 3327
Mary Hart (651) 779-3376 mary.hart@century.edu W 3320
Beth Hentges (651) 779-3377 beth.hentges@century.edu W 3322
Kenneth Hoffmann (651) 747-4029 kenneth.hoffmann@century.edu W 3071
Stewart Hunt (651) 779-3387 stewart.hunt@century.edu W 3333
Brian Jenson (651) 779-3378 brian.jenson@century.edu W 3326
Dottie Johnson (651) 779-3464 dottie.johnson@century.edu W 3381
Ed Kruszka (651) 779-3383 ed.kruszka@century.edu W 3328
Phil Lamb (651) 779-3463 phil.lamb@century.edu W 3381
Marc Loken (651) 747-4029 marc.loken@century.edu W 3071
Gerry Naughton (651) 779-3384 gerry.naughton@century.edu W 3329
Roger Olson (651) 779-3385 roger.olson@century.edu W 3330
Lowell Palecek (651) 779-3463 lowell.palecek@century.edu W 3381
Brian Peterman (651) 779-3381 brian.peterman@century.edu W 3384
Melissa Petrich (651) 779-3375 melissa.petrich@century.edu W 3315
Mike Raney (651) 779-3486 mike.raney@century.edu W 3403
Kurt Reedich (651) 779-3395 kurt.reedich@century.edu W 3385
Greg Rosik (651) 779-3380 greg.rosik@century.edu W 3325
Delia Samuel (651) 773-1728 delia.samuel@century.edu W 3331
Mayura Sharma (651) 779-3388 mayura.sharma@century.edu W 3383
Jerry Sievers (651) 779-5761 jerry.sievers@century.edu W 3422
Angela Simons (651) 779-3389 angela.simons@century.edu W 3323
Lois Thur (651) 779-5761 lois.thur@century.edu W 3422
Vugranam Varadachari (651) 779-3463 vugranam.varadachari@century.edu W 3381
William Young (651) 779-3385 william.young@century.edu W 3330