Programs & Degrees

Philosophy

Delivery: A mix of daytime, evening, Saturday, and online courses
Start: Fall or Spring Semester, Full- or Part-Time

Liberal Arts and Sciences – Associate in Arts Degree (60 Credits)
Minnesota Transfer Curriculum – MnTC

About the Discipline


Do you want to think more critically, read more carefully, write more logically, and sound really smart in casual conversation? If so, then you should consider taking a philosophy course. The Philosophy Department at Century College offers you a wide variety of courses to help meet your academic and transfer goals. When you take a course in Ethics, Introduction to Philosophy, Logic, World Religions, or Moral Issues in Healthcare, you’ll have the opportunity to grapple with some of the most profound questions people have asked through the ages, such as:
  • Does God exist?
  • What is the nature of reality?
  • Why should I be moral?
  • How do I know that I know something?
  • What is logical thinking?
  • What does it mean to live the “good life”?
  • What is faith, superstition, and religion?
  • How can I develop a coherent, meaningful and unique worldview?
As you can probably tell, philosophers tend to be better at asking questions (and starting a good debate) than definitively answering them! But, the process of posing philosophical questions and learning how other philosophers have tried to answer these questions will help you to become a better and more insightful critical thinker, writer, and conversationalist.

Contact Information


Admissions Office 651.773.1700 admissions@century.edu Room 2350 West
Counseling & Advising Office 651.779.3285 Ask Century Room 2410 West
Financial Aid Office 651.779.3305 finaid@century.edu Room 2320 West

Discipline Contact Information


Steve Aspenson (651) 747-4007 steve.aspenson@century.edu W 1120
Ida Baltikauskas (651) 779-3499 ida.baltikauskas@century.edu W 1121
Carl Chung (651) 748-2638 carl.chung@century.edu W 1123
Jonathan Gunderson (651) 747-4007 jonathan.gunderson@century.edu W 1120
Jaime Hoffman (651) 747-4007 jaime.hoffman@century.edu W 1120
Steve Odmark (651) 779-5836 steve.odmark@century.edu W 1117
Patricia Smith (651) 747-4097 patricia.smith@century.edu W 1119