Programs & Degrees

Sociology

Delivery: A mix of daytime, evening, Saturday, and online courses
Start: Fall or Spring Semester, Full- or Part-Time

Liberal Arts and Sciences – Associate in Arts Degree (60 Credits)
Minnesota Transfer Curriculum – MnTC

About the Discipline


Have you ever wondered why most Minnesotans consider caterpillars—a good source of protein—unfit for consumption, yet find a can of chemicals they call “pop” refreshing on a hot day? How does society encourage conformity with social norms, and what happens when these efforts fail? Sociologists study how groups influence the behavior of individuals, as well as how individuals influence each other and the larger society. Through sociology, you'll also explore issues of social power and inequality— how factors like race, class, gender, sexual orientation, and disability status place us in hierarchies of power and privilege that shape both our lives and identities. Sociology applies these ideas to everyday life—examining responses to Hurricane Katrina, the increasing acceptance of tattoos among middle class youth, and incidents like road rage. Sociology has the tools to study these phenomena and others that touch our lives and the lives of individuals and societies around the globe. Sociology classes will help you build skills in research, oral communication, cross-cultural communication, and enable you to pursue professional exploration through field research and service-learning opportunities in the community. Your coursework in sociology will provide you the critical thinking and analytical skills to succeed in the workplace and pursue further study at a four-year college/university or graduate school.

What can I do with a major in Sociology?


As a sociology major, you are in demand by employers seeking knowledgeable individuals able to succeed in today's diverse workplaces, including business, non-profit organizations, social work and human services, law enforcement, and education.

Contact Information


Admissions Office 651.773.1700 admissions@century.edu Room 2350 West
Counseling & Advising Office 651.779.3285 Ask Century Room 2410 West
Financial Aid Office 651.779.3305 finaid@century.edu Room 2320 West

Discipline Contact Information


Keith Cunnien (651) 773-1742 keith.cunnien@century.edu W 3468
Susannah Dolance (651) 779-3459 susannah.dolance@century.edu W 3461
Debbie Engelen-Eigles (651) 779-3451 debbie.engelen@century.edu W 3460
Joan Hiller (651) 779-5813 joan.hiller@century.edu W 3452
Carol Mathews (651) 779-3455 carol.mathews@century.edu W 3465
Janice Milner (651) 779-3460 janice.milner@century.edu W 3463