Skip to main content

Traffic & Parking Regulations

The authority for establishing traffic and parking regulations on campuses is granted by Minnesota Statute, Section 136F.53 and  169.966, Subd. 8 (1988).  The President of Century College has delegated responsibility for enforcement of these regulations on college property to the Director of Public Safety and Campus Security Officers

  • Parking on campus is a privilege, not a right. The privilege may be revoked for continued or gross violations of parking regulations and/or unsafe actions while operating a vehicle on campus. 
  • The college assumes no liability for care of, damage to, and/or protection of any vehicle or its contents at any time while it is operated on or parked on campus property.  All vehicles should be locked when unattended and valuables placed out of sight. 
  • Drivers shall observe college traffic and parking regulations and drive safely, giving pedestrians the right of way at all times.
  • The college reserves the right to issue citations, immobilize, and/or tow any vehicle at the owners expense when in violation of established parking regulations.
  • Emergency Situations: Vehicle blocking roadways, interfering with safe traffic flow, blocking fire lanes, hydrants, or impeding response of emergency responders may be towed immediately without prior notice. 

Parking Violations & Fines

Century College will issue administrative citations for parking or policy violations. The college sets a dollar amount rate for the fine based on the violations. Failure to pay the fine in 10 business days may result in a financial hold on the students’ account, record or transcript holds, registration holds, vehicle immobilization, towing and/or impoundment, and other disciplinary actions.  

The following Parking Regulations have been established by Century College:

Fire Lane Parking Violation

  • No person shall stop, stand, or park a vehicle in a clearly designated fire lane or area that serves as a fire lane, except a vehicle of a fire department, a vehicle of a law enforcement agency, or an ambulance or other emergency vehicle parked in the course of their duties.
  • The fine for such violation shall be $40.00.

Handicapped Parking Violation

  • A person shall not park a motor vehicle in or obstruct access to a parking space or associated access aisle designated and reserved for the physically disabled unless that person is a physically disabled person as defined in Minnesota Statue section 169.345, subdivision 2, or the person is transporting or parking a motor vehicle for a physically disabled person; and the motor vehicle visibly displays one of the following: a disability plate issued under section 168.021, a certificate issued under section 169.345, a permit valid for 30 days issued under section 168.021 or 169.345, or an equivalent certificate, insignia, or plate issued by Century College, another state, a foreign country, or one of its political subdivisions
  • The fine for such violation shall be $200.

Abandoned Vehicle

  • Abandoned vehicle means a motor vehicle that has remained in the parking lot for a period of more than 48 hours; or lacks vital component parts or is in an inoperable condition such that it has no substantial potential for further use consistent with its usual functions.
  • Any person shall not abandon a motor vehicle on Century College property, without the consent of the Public Safety Department is guilty of this violation. 
  • The fine for such violation shall be $30.
  • Towing Authorization
    A vehicle that remains on Century College property for 72 hours after it has been cited as an abandon vehicle may be towed at the discretion of the Century College Public Safety Department.  All fees associated with the towing/impound of said vehicle are the responsibility of the vehicle owner. 

Parked Outside of Marked Spaces

No vehicle may park, stop, or stand in a space at an angle or on/over a stall line. 

The fine for such violation shall be $30.

Parked Blocking a Roadway or Vehicle

  • No vehicle may park, stop, or stand in a manner that can impede the normal and reasonable movement traffic, or block a vehicle from exiting a designated parking spot.
  • The fine for such violation shall be $30.
  • Towing Authorization: A vehicle blocking roadways, interfering with safe traffic flow, or blocking another vehicle's exit may be immediately towed at the discretion of the Century College Public Safety Department. All fees associated with the towing/impound of said vehicle are the responsibility of the vehicle owner. 

Parked in Unauthorized Area

  • No vehicle may park, stop, or stand:
    1. in an area with signs indicating no parking; or
    2. in an area with signs indicating the space is reserved unless they have been notified in writing that the space is reserved for that vehicle; or
    3. on the grass; or
    4. on roadway medians or islands. Motorcycles may park on roadway medians or islands as long as they do not impede the normal flow of vehicle or pedestrian traffic; or
    5. on sidewalks.
  • The fine for such violation shall be $30.

Timed Parking Violations

  • No vehicle may park, stop, or stand longer than permitted by special "timed parking" signs, (i.e. 20 minute parking, 30 minute parking, or other stated times).
  • The fine for such violation shall be $30.

Unauthorized Visitor Parking

  • No vehicle may park, stop, or stand in a space designated by special "visitor parking" signs, if a student, employee, vendor, or contractor of Century College operates such vehicle.
  • The fine for such violation shall be $30.

Unauthorized Overnight Parking

  • Parking and/or leaving trailers or other personal vehicles on campus overnight is prohibited. Exceptions for students and employees needing to leave vehicles overnight because of travel or other reasons needs to be requested through the Public Safety Department by phone (651) 747-4000 or email Security.
  • The fine for such violations shall be $30.

No Permit / Failure to Display Permit

  • No vehicle may park, stop, or stand in a lot or portion of lot designated by special "employee parking" signs without displaying an employee parking permit affixed to the lower most portion of the front window on the driver’s side of the vehicle.
  • The fine for such violation shall be $30.